Pro-Life Lawsuit against the state of Illinois Dismissed

UPDATE: Pro-Life Lawsuit against the State of Illinois Dismissal Appealed

On November 30, 2017, the Thomas More Society filed a taxpayer lawsuit against State of Illinois officials in a counter attack against House Bill 40, which requires public funding of tens of thousands of elective abortions. The taxpayer lawsuit, filed in the Sangamon County Circuit Court, is brought on behalf of hundreds of thousands of Illinois taxpayers, represented by county and statewide pro-life organizations including the Illinois Federation for Right to Life and it's many affiliates was dismissed by Associate Circuit Judge Jennifer Ascher. A notice of appeal was entered on January 2nd, in the 4th Appelate Court.

April 4, 2017

ACTION ALERT - Break the pro-abortion Supreme Court filibuster

Judge Neil Gorsuch
Judge Neil Gorsuch
President Trump has nominated Judge Neil Gorsuch to the U.S. Supreme Court, to fill the seat vacated a year ago by the death of Justice Antonin Scalia. We expect that the full Senate will take up the nomination immediately. But most Senate Democrats are threatening to filibuster the Gorsuch nomination!  This obstructionism is being demanded by militantly pro-abortion advocacy groups.

Republican senators hold a 52-48 Senate majority.  It is essential that the Republicans take whatever procedural steps are necessary to break through the Democratic obstructionism.  The critical Senate roll call votes are likely to occur on Thursday, April 6, or Friday, April 7.  To read National Right to Life's letter to senators urging them to take the steps necessary to break the filibuster, click here.

Please act today!  Just click on "Take Action," then enter your name and address (Senate offices require this information). We have provided a suggested e-mail message that is generally appropriate, but you can modify it in any manner you desire.  After you've finished modifying the message to your satisfaction, click "send message" to send the message to your two U.S. senators.