January 4, 2022

New Hampshire Late-Term Abortion Ban Goes Into Effect

On Jan 1, 2022, New Hampshire's new law prohibiting the abortion of children after 24 weeks gestation went into effect.

Titled, The Family Life Protection Act, the law prohibits abortion after 24 weeks except when the mother's health is at risk. The law does not include exceptions for rape, incest, or prenatal diagnosis. Additionally, the law will require women to have an ultrasound prior to an abortion procedure. Abortionists who violate the law could face up to seven years in prison.

The ultrasound procedure not only gives pregnant mothers the opportunity to see their children and understand their humanity, but it also protects women from dangerous situations in which an undiagnosed pregnancy condition could make an abortion procedure deadly for both her and her child.

This law protects babies who can survive outside of the womb. With medical intervention, babies have survived outside of the womb as early as 21 weeks.

Click here to read more.